Bungendore Windmill

When I am driving around the countryside I am always looking for a good windmill to shoot and I managed to find this one just outside of Bungendore just near the Capital Wind Farm. I think that windmills are typically Australian and combined with the golden colours of the of the ground and the blue of clear sky it seems to always be a good combination.

I have always wanted to take a slow shutter shot of a windmill to get that surreal blurred look in the blades and this was the day as the use of an 3 stop ND filter and Polariser managed to slow the speed down long enough to blur the movement. Turns out you don’t actually need to slow a speed to blur the blades, especially when there is a bit of wind about.

Let me know what you think.

Shot with Nikon D90 and Nikkor 17-35mm f2.8

~ by michaelolive on May 17, 2010.

13 Responses to “Bungendore Windmill”

  1. Great photo with nice color. I like it. I checked Your photo in bigger size and I confess that You succeeded very good to show movement.

    Those wind mills difers so great we here. We have here in my country wooden windmills, as You can easily find out in my blog.

  2. That is just about a perfect windmill shot, very nice! Colours and composition is great, what is particularly nice is how the clouds streak out from the windmill. Looks great, well done!

    I think it’s an Australian outback symbol as well and I too chase those windmills! They do have lots of them here in the US as well, I got a few good ones in New Mexico.

  3. Nice mate. You’re pretty good with the windmill portraits 😉

    Love the golden grass against the deep blue sky.

  4. Love the windmill shot with the dry fields mate – very rural Aust 🙂
    cheers,
    tone 🙂

  5. Ripper shot mate, love the colours too, the motion blur is spot on.

  6. Excellent image Michael. Would sell like hot cakes in an image stock library. You should look around for and Australiana comps and enter it in.

    • Thanks Graham, your comments are much appreciated. I will take your advice and look into both the stock libraries and Australiana competitions, always looking for a bit of extra cash to fud some new gear.

      Cheers

  7. Great shot mate , just got to love them country windmills make great focal points .

Leave a Reply

 
