Canberra Skyline form the NMA

My original thought after putting this image together was that it doesn’t look like Canberra! I think maybe it is the lights that create that illusion as to me it looks more like a mini Miami or something similar instead of sleepy Canberra.

The tricky part about this capture was the boat on the left, I wanted to include it to create foreground interest but the fact that my shutter speed was at about 13 seconds and that this is a stitched image meant that I was at the mercy of the winds as to whether the boat would work out properly or not as the positioning of the boat meant that I couldn’t fit it all in one frame in the portrait format. I think the result turned out quite well and I think the boat adds that little bit extra than if it were not in the frame. What do you think?

Nikon D90, Nikkor 50mm f1.8 @ f8.

~ by michaelolive on May 4, 2010.

One Response to “Canberra Skyline form the NMA”

  1. Hi Michael

    Absolutely stunning photography!!! I am currently looking for photography of Lake Burley Griffin to display in our new offices located in Civic, If you are interested could you please email me at susan.gale@griffinlegal.com.au

    Many thanks
    Susan

Leave a Reply

 
