Thai Food Festival

On Sunday my wife and I decided to head out to the Annual Thai Food Festival at the Thai Temple in Lyneham, North Canberra. Having Mia meant we had to be there pretty much at the opening and as such the crowd hadn’t quite built yet which suited us fine. The food wasn’t as impressive as I remembered but this might have been because they were fund raising to build a new Temple on the site and had cut back on the ingredients to try and maximise their takings but we really enjoyed the traditions surrounding the Monks of the Temple, including traditional prayers and the collection of food for the feast. I have always been intrigued by Monks and the life they might lead and I am especially taken by the older Monks as I think they make great portrait subjects.

Below are a few photos that I managed to snap at the festival, hope you like them.

I loved the contrast the colours of these flower petals floating in a bowl created and think it would look good as a small canvas on the wall.

From the moment I arrived I knew I wanted a portrait of this Monk. Its as though every line on his face and blemish in his skin tells a story of a life ell lived.

Prayer time is always an impressive spectacle. Not being from a religious background myself I love the passion, belief and commitment that these guys portray.

All photos shot with the D90 and 35mm f1.8 (unfortunately I left the 70-200mm at home which would have come in very handy).

~ by michaelolive on April 21, 2010.

3 Responses to “Thai Food Festival”

  1. Awesome Mike,
    Love that portrait of the Monk, awesome work.

  2. love these photos.. makes me miss Thailand

  3. i’m with Tom on this one, i love the portrait

Leave a Reply

 
