Little Miss Mia

Hi all

As you may have guessed my wife and I had a little visitor Sunday, Mia Tracy Olive was conveniently born at 12.33pm, 2 weeks early, weighing 2.85 kgs and measuring 46 cms in length. Both mum and baby are doing really well and we had our first night at home last night without any incidents.

As you may have guessed dad is pretty chuffed with his new little daughter and may be busy for the next couple of weeks (she is a great time waster) before I have to go back to work. Thanks to everyone for all their well wishes prior to the birth!

And here are a few photos from the first 5 days, I think I may have a new photographic passion!

As this is still a photo blog I have provided the details of the images below. All shots were taken in natural light and I used a little bit of Nik Software on the skin tones.

Cheers

Mike

Nikon D90, Nikon 50mm f1.8

Nikon D90, Tamron 90mm f2.8 Macro

Nikon D90, Nikon 35mm f1.8

Nikon D90, Nikon 50mm f1.8

Nikon D90, Nikon 35mm f1.8

Nikon D90, Nikon 35mm f1.8

~ by michaelolive on January 29, 2010.

11 Responses to “Little Miss Mia”

  1. beautiful michael, i was waiting for this entry. ❤

  2. Congrats, buddy. Nice photos, too!

  3. Congratulations Michael (and ‘wifey’) ! She is gorgeous and great images of her already. You have chosen a beautiful name for her as well.

    all the best to all three of you,
    tone 🙂

  4. Congratulations to you both. Fun times ahead 🙂 Love the B&W shots and the one taken with the Tamron Macro.
    Out of interest how sharp do you find the Nikon 50mm f/1.8 on the D90? I noticed you use it quite a bit, I’m guessing you are pretty happy with the sharpness at the open end of the aperture?
    Thanks,
    Regards Graham

  5. Congratulations to you both mate, she is gorgeous.
    Beautiful photos too, keep taking photos everyday, as they grow too quick.
    Hope all goes well.

    Well done.
    Tom

  6. congrats michael 🙂
    i wondered why your blog & our emails had gone quiet

    she’s adorable! cutest littlest nose ever ❤

  7. Congrats! She looks adorable!

  8. What gorgeous photos! I’m so impressed —and with my own D90, as well. You have a great talent for capturing the beauty and innocence of a newborn. Congratulations on your new daughter!!!! –Mitch (http://thisweekwithmitchgrosky.wordpress.com and http://mrgrosky.wordpress.com)

  9. Thanks Katie, shes a bunch of fun.

    Cheers Beau!

    Thanks for the well wishes Tony.

    Graham, the fun times have already started I think. With the 50mm f1.8, I find it sharp enough for my uses, but I agree somewhat with what I have read in being soft wide open, however I sometimes think it comes down to the user and their ability with focussing. Sometimes I get soft photos and sometimes I get them pin sharp so I kind of came to the conclusion that it was me. For the price it can’t be beat at that focal length however I do find my new 35mm f1.8 a bit sharper wide open. Thanks for your comment.

    Thanks Tom, she seems to be growing everyday at the moment, it is hard to keep up.

    Thanks Chloe, hopefully she takes after her mum and not her dad : )

    Thanks Maggie, we thin so!

    Thanks Mr Grosky, I think it is because I feel a bit more comfortable taking photos of my own child as well as the fact that I see her all the time and get better opportunities.

  10. Hello, Congratulations on your little bundle of joy.. We have ours on the way in a couple of months and as a D90 owner, I’d be happy if I could snap photos half as good as the ones you have! I’m right now in a dilemma trying to choose between the 2 primes – the 50mm f1.8 or the 35 mm…. Which one of the two do you reach out formore

  11. cute girl, good on ya both.

Leave a Reply

 
