Coppins Crossing

I took this image before Xmas on the tip off of a friend that this area was looking really nice due to the dryness that summer had brought. I only had the chance to check it out on evening on the way home from work and only managed to spend about 20 minutes here as I had to be somewhere. This is the best image I could come up with.

this is a shot of the road leading to Coppins Crossing which Canberran’s will know well but for outsiders connects one of the Northern Suburbs to one of the South/Central Suburbs (actually where my parents live) and it is totally rural along the way (about 5km’s). That is the great thing about Canberra, 5-10 minutes drive and you can be totally isolated. This road however is actually quite busy during peak hour and therefore I had to try and time my shots, especially as this is a stitched image albeit only 3 horizontal images as was getting frustrated with the cars. I was quite lucky with the storm rolling in from the left.

Let me know what you think?

The latest on the baby front, is that we are as of last night living day to day and totally in the hands of when the baby decides to arrive, could be today could be weeks, so if the posting and commenting suddenly stops then something is going down.

Nikon D90, Nikon 18-70mm @35mm, f11, 1/250 sec, 3 images in horizontal format stitched and cropped.

~ by michaelolive on January 13, 2010.

6 Responses to “Coppins Crossing”

  1. love the leading lines and composition michael

  2. i like the road heading off into the distance, do you have a ND filter? i feel like the sky looks a little washed out in the right hand corner, would have been nice if you could have kept some colour/shading in it but i think the only way to manage that is with an ND filter or merging separate shots on different exposures.

    best of luck with the birth michael, no faniting 😉

    • I know what you mean Katie, I do have ND filters but I was a bit lazy on this day. The sun was really shining into the frame in the right hand corner but it was so hot and I was in a suit so I just wanted to get the shot and get out of there. probably should have taken multiple exposures but that’s life.

      I should be good on the fainting side, parenting that’s another story!

  3. hi Michael,
    I like the tones in this one, and of this time of of the year… still a tinge of green here but drying quickly now.

    All the best for you, your partner and the new born to be !

Leave a Reply

 
