Old Royalla Train Station

*Edit* I have re posted a saturated version of this image as requested by Chloe. Chloe/others let me know which one you prefer? My money is still on the desaturated version but then again that is just me and I tend to lean towards de-saturation for nearly all my images of this nature, I must have a problem!

I drive past this old station every time I return from the coast down south but have always been too lazy to photograph it even though it is only 20 minutes drive from my house. I have always wanted to photograph it but wasn’t sure that I could make a good photo out of it. Anyway this is what I think is my best shot from this shoot, this train station is obviously not in use anymore and is completely over grown but I still love the atmosphere that it brings with the old carriages and station office itself just sitting there decaying. Its amazing that just 35 minutes from the heart of the Canberra City is this run down station which is an ode to the past.

I was lucky enough to have this large cloud front pass into the frame while I was shooting which I think added a bit more interest to the scene.

The weather has been blisteringly hot this weekend in Canberra and is supposed to reach 39 by Tuesday, I am hoping that there will a cold front soon to try and cool it down a bit as it is not very conducive to photography at the moment especially with the dull blue sky’s we have been getting.

Shot with Nikon D90, 70-200mm @ 70mm, f11, 1/500 sec. 9 images stitched and cropped in photoshop.

~ by michaelolive on January 10, 2010.

16 Responses to “Old Royalla Train Station”

  1. Great composition Mike,
    I love old train stations, the slight desat works really well.
    That 70-200mm is getting a good workout stitching.

    Great work.

  2. Thanks Tom,

    Yeah me too, they make good photos.
    The 70-200mm is sharp as and I am enjoying stitching with it, just got to get used to composing with it.

    Cheers

  3. nice stitch, michael. i like how your photos are always a little bit desaturated

    • Thanks Katie, yeah I think I am going through a phase with the desaturation thing but it seems that photos in the summer heat don’t look as nice fully saturated, hence the desaturation.
      Cheers

  4. i like this one but i would have boosted the colour not desaturated, i am curious to see the original..(?)
    awesome exposure & stitching

    • Thanks Chloe,

      I played with both and liked this one better, but then again I am in a Desaturated state of mind with my photography at the moment. I will post the saturated version soon to see what you think.

      Cheers

  5. Hi Michael,

    Just composition in this shot I love it. Great job.

    Jamie

  6. I meant great composition. 🙂

  7. i really like the other version (new) michael

    • Thanks Chloe, my wife likes the saturated version too and its seems that other people are split between the two. That’s what I love about photography, people like different things and interpret an image totally different to other people.

  8. Desat Mike.

  9. I love the saturated aspect of the picture much better than the original picture. You really have a great eye.

    • Thanks Maggie, the saturated image is kind of growing on me, but I think desaturation is my default on these images at the moment, maybe I will grow out of it one day!

  10. nice shot deffinatly the unsat version

Leave a Reply

 
