Out with the old and in with the new

Over the Xmas break I managed to add a couple of new lenses to my kit which I am really excited about. The first is the ‘Pro’ Nikon 17-35mm f2.8 (which I have been eyeing for a while) and the second is the new Nikon 35mm f1.8 both of which I think I am in love with already.

Though I have only used the 17-35mm a few times I can tell that I am going to love it. I loved my trusty Nikon 18-70mm lens and it was very versatile but this thing is in a completely different ball park in terms of quality and build (as you would expect!). It is compatible with FX (if I ever decide to take the plunge) and whilst on the DX is only the equivalent of a 26-53mm zoom lens it fits nicely in my DX lineup for the moment, even if it does mean a bit more weight and more changing of lenses, and will become my new wide angle lens if I can ever afford to go full frame.

The 35mm was purchased mainly to photograph my baby when it arrives and also my nieces and nephews but I can already tell that this thing is going to be my new walk around street photography lens as it is so light, sharp and contrasty as well as being the equivalent to a normal 5omm lens on the D90. Even though it is not compatible with FX I think that it won’t matter as this teamed with the D90 will still remain my combination for taking happy snaps as it will be lighter and more convenient than carrying a bulkier body and lens. Also combined with the 50mm f1.8 it becomes a pretty mobile environmental portrait/portrait team.

I look forward to posting some photos from these two in the coming weeks and also provide some of my thoughts on their performance with the D90.

Anyone else get any new gear over the break?

Also, I have updated my ‘About’ page to give people a bit more of an idea who I am. Let me know what you think? Stay or change?

Cheers

~ by michaelolive on January 4, 2010.

6 Responses to “Out with the old and in with the new”

  1. you’re going to love those wide apertures, Michael. i have a canon 17-50 f2.8 and it is my baby! and of course you can’t go wrong with that prime lens, what a beauty. i have the 50mm but it’s equivalent to around an 80mm on my crop sensor, you made a very wise choice with the 35! looking forward to seeing some shots! now i’m off your suss your ‘about’ page :):)

    • Yeah looking forward to finally having an f2.8 in that range. I had a look at the 17-50mm too as I’ve heard great things about it but I kept coming back to the 17-35mm for its legendary status and its ability to go full frame. I love the little 35mm f1.8 already as I find the 50mm a little too long sometimes, especially in doors. Thanks for the comment.

  2. :O you got my lense! i want the 35mm also, jealoussss O_o
    post some photos i want to see how it delivers!

    p.s thanks for your comment, i’m still learning the whole stitching pano’s thing – do you capture yours horizontal or vertical(?) i’ve done them horizontal, but that one was vertical i found it more frustrating lol

    • Hey Chloe, I know I know, I promise I will let you know how it performs though. Probably shouldn’t have got it after dropping money on the other lense but you only live once!

      No worries, stitching I find is one of those dark arts that I am still very much learning too. Most of the time I capture vertically set up on a tripod with an elbow bracket attached to the camera to make sure everyhting is level. It requires more set up which is a hassle but makes it easier come stitching time. You really only need to do this if you intend to blow photos up big and sell them though. Otherwise just go with what works as I sometimes couldn’t bothered and capture horizontally handheld as it is much easier. Just make sure that you put your focus on Manual after you have focussed initially otherwise your focus point can change from shot to shot which ruins everything.

      Cheers

      Cheers

  3. Hi Michael

    I just love your shot of the boat and jetty in black and white. Our art teacher has imposed a ban on colour for an annual upcoming amateur art exhibition and I’ve been scared stiff for months! Then I saw your amazing photo. May I ask what your copyright restrictions are or what it would take/cost to let me have a humble go at painting your lovely photo in oils on canvas? I’ve only been in the class a year and all the other middle-aged ladies started on their paintings weeks ago. They’re Danish and all very organised. I’m a Brit living in Denmark and came close to leaving my paints on the bus last week. Anyway, hope to hear from you soon, Happy New Year, Helen

    • Hi Helen,

      Happy new year to you to. I am flattered and would be happy for you to paint my photo of the boat and jetty to display in your exhibition. If you want you can email me at michaelolivephotography@hotmail.com if you need anything more from me.

      One request I have though would be that if you felt comfortable once you have finalised the painting that you email me a photo of you holding or standing next to it so that I could post here on my blog.

      Good luck

      Thanks
      Mike

      Reply

Leave a Reply

 
