So another year begins

Happy New Year!

I hope that you and your loved ones have had and enjoyable and safe festive season as I have. It has been almost 12 months since I started this blog and I would like to take the time to thank everyone who has visited this site, even if it was by mistake, and especially a big thank you to all who have made comments throughout the year. Your support and wisdom is something I have always appreciated and will continue to do so.

2010 rolled in pretty quietly for us with my wife being 5 weeks from giving birth and me being a bit too old and boring for hitting the town. Mind you with our first baby due to drop in the next month it has been anything but quiet in preparation.

My first photo for 2010 was actually taken about 3 months ago but it has seriously taken me this long to get it to a position where I am happy with it. It was partly through laziness and partly through trying to prefect how I imagined the scene at the time but it is now done, its amazing how you can knuckle down and get things done when you have a deadline for it being ready to be printed for a customer!

This is the Capital Wind Farm taken from the Lake George Lookout. The farm comprises of 67 wind turbines and when operational will supply electricity to 90,000 households during its 25 year lifespan. Whilst these turbines may look small in the picture they are actually really quite massive as this shot was taken from about 2 km’s away. The biggest challenge to getting this photo was avoiding camera shake as with the storm coming in the wind was very strong and meant I had to block as much as I could by setting up behind a near by hill.

Shot with Nikon D90, Sigma 70-200mm f2.8 @ 145mm, f11, 1/4 sec. 12 shots stitched and cropped to about 8.

~ by michaelolive on January 2, 2010.

12 Responses to “So another year begins”

  1. Hi Michael, I’m glad to have found your blog and will definitely continue to follow you through twenty-ten! 🙂 Good luck to you and your wife over the next month, I hope the birth goes well. I bet 9 months has flown?

    Stunning and well composed shot to kick off a new year, look forward to many more 🙂

    • Thanks Katie, glad you found my blog and i appreciate the comments. The time has absolutely flown by, especially after the first 12 weeks where you are a bit worried about something going wrong. I bet my wife would say otherwise as I guess she is the one that has to get a bit fatter.

  2. Great picture to begin the new year with and congratulations on approaching your one year mark. I love the blueish tone to the pictures and the rolling quality of the clouds.

  3. Happy new year, mate. Thanks to you also for your comment on mine and everybody elses blog that you visit.

    This photo is great – very moody – and congrats on the sale.

  4. the serious countdown begins! 🙂 i’m excited for the news of when the little bubba arrives
    i spent 7 days away with a 16 month old baby, my partner and i had the pleasure of baby duties, i think we were both clucky.. eeep

    beautiful photo, those clouds are hinting at some fine storms

    • Yep, getting exciting now, hope it comes with a manual! Ha ha, that’s the way it happens, one day you are rolling along and the next day you decide you want to have kids. 16 month year olds are pretty cool though, I have 3 nieces and one nephew all between 11 months and 3 so they have been really fun, although i’ve heard it gets more serious when you can’t hand them back to anyone :p

      Thanks again for your comments, always appreciated.

  5. Awesome Mike,
    I love wind farms and that is a cracker. A great capture of the encroaching storm, and marvelous effort on capturing the blades.

    Cheers,
    Tom

  6. Very nice indeed Michael ! This would be one of my favourites of yours.

    All the best in 2010 for you and your wife with the baby. 🙂

    cheers,

    • Hey Tony, thanks mate it prints up even better than on the screen which I am happy with.

      Thanks again, all the best to you and I look forward to following your photography through 2010.

      Cheers

Leave a Reply

 
