Old Byron Lighthouse

Byron Bay Lighthouse

Its funny, I have been going to Byron Bay since I was born yet I have never really photographed it. Maybe it’s because I have so many fond memories of the place that I have never really stood back and looked at it from a photographers perspective, maybe its just because every time I am there I get caught up in the atmosphere and in having to much fun to find the time to take photos. Maybe its just because I don’t feel that my photos would in my eyes do the place justice so I just leave it as a memory in my head.

This time around I was in Byron for less than 24 hours visiting my uncle and aunty so I didn’t really get the opportunity, however I did manage to get up for sunrise on the promise of a beautiful show. The sunrise that I’d hoped for didn’t eventuate but it didn’t matter, there is something about being up on the headland at first light that brings a sense of meaning to your life. I think there is something special knowing that you are one of the first people in the country to see the new day break.

This shot has been done a million times over, but in all seriousness I have been going to Byron for 31 years and this is my first time I have photographed the lighthouse. The colours were pretty flat so I decided to convert it to an old school photograph as I remember my dad and uncle showing me photos of Byron from when they were boys and man has it grown over the years. In a way it has somewhat lost its charm for those who knew it years and years ago, I guess now you just have to know where to look.

~ by michaelolive on October 4, 2009.

2 Responses to “Old Byron Lighthouse”

  1. Cool shot Michael, I like the sepia/historic feel.
    I think lighthouses are a great subject and would love to spend time photographing them up the east coast.
    Gabo Island, Seal Rocks and Smokey Cape are some of my favs I have visited.

    • Thanks Tom. Lighthouses are so interesting I would like to go up to the top one day as I think there would be some cool photos inside as well as out. Might have to check out your suggestions when the weather gets a bit better.

Leave a Reply

 
