No time for Photography :-(

Curtis Falls Velvia

There hasn’t been much time for photography lately and even when I have the time I have to admit going out in the cold Canberra winter isn’t very appealing. I think Beau Mitchell summed it up best when he said that he was in a photography rut.

Hopefully all of this is about to change as I leave on holidays on Thursday for 3 weeks of driving up the east coast and back again. we will be taking in places such as Sydney, the Hunter Valley, Byron Bay, GC Hinterland, Sunshine Coast and a few others that I haven’t come up with yet, but should be fun. I am especially looking forward to this holiday as it turns out it could be our last big one as a family of two. Yep, come February next year I will be a dad! Exciting and scary all in the same package but something that I am really looking forward to.

Also this will probably be my last post for a few weeks (depending on internet availability) so I thought I would leave you with a shot of Curtis Falls in the Tamobrine Mountains. I don’t feel that I did this place justice last year and am looking forward to possibly returning their to get some better shots. We are staying in the Lamington NP so should be able to get up there for a day trip.

2 hours of winter left, bring on the sun!

Cheers

~ by michaelolive on August 31, 2009.

4 Responses to “No time for Photography :-(”

  1. hi Mike,
    Firstly congratulations on the fantastic news for you and your partner 🙂
    As you hinted at, I think you’ll get your mojo back in no time once you hit a since of freedom and a change of scenery – have a great trip !
    Nice lush sup-tropical image there too mate 🙂

  2. Hi Mike,
    Lovely waterfall shot.
    Have fun up the east coast, hopefully you have a great trip.
    Congrats on the news, this time next year you’ll celebrating fathers day.

    Have fun,
    Tom

  3. congratulations (although a bit late) on your news! you are getting some exceptional results from your d90, what lens were you using for this shot?

    • Thanks Tony.

      Thanks Tom.

      Thanks Katie. The D90 is working pretty well for me at the moment. I always have the thought in the back of my mind to jump to the D700 but I can’t really justify it at the moment, too expensive. This shot was actually taken with the old kit lens from my D70 which is the 18-70mm f3.5-4.5 (I still use it all the time) and is surprisingly quite a good lens when used with in its limitations. I also shoot with a Sigma 10-20mm, Nikon 50mm f1.8 and Sigma 70-200mm f2.8. Kind of hoping to upgrade to the Nikon 17-35mm f2.8 soon but we will see.

Leave a Reply

 
