Reflections

Reflections Bruges

On my journey through old photos I came across this one taken in Bruges, Belgium along the many canals that cover the town. I didn’t really like the photo so I converted it to black and white and was pleasantly surprised. I love how the black and white conversation provides the reflection in the water with that oil painting type feel to it and love the contrast between the reflection and reality.

This photo to me also goes to show you that you don’t need to own a 24mp DSLR to make good photos as this was taken with a 3mp Canon point and shoot camera. I remember the morning vividly as it was freezing cold and it was the morning after the Tsunami hit Asia in 2004.

I kind of like it, but what do you think?

~ by michaelolive on May 31, 2009.

4 Responses to “Reflections”

  1. love it!! 🙂
    the b/w gives so much to this image i feel.
    really strong composition again.
    and i love the grainy feel to it as well.
    that kind of brings it into context with the subject.

  2. I like it, Michael. It looks like it could have been shot on film.
    The contrast is excellent and the way you’ve framed it is very cool.

    It reminds me of that movie ‘In Bruges’ with Colin Farrel which I enjoyed watching. If you haven’t seen it yet, you should. 😀

  3. Great composed image, love it.

  4. Sorry for the lack of reply have been away and had no access to internet.

    thanks Stephen, glad you like it.

    Beau I have seen ‘In Bruges’ cool movie. I was going for that film kind of look as I think it suits here. Thanks again.

    Thanks Thomas, appreciate the comment.

Leave a Reply

 
