Thought it was time

mo_blog_09_0001

It feels like it has been a while since I have been able to seriously get out and look for some photos. Today I decided if I was going to make time it was going to have to be at lunch. Although not the best time of day to shoot, the light at this time of year is a lot softer and more forgiving especially when you have a subject where the light is filtered well.

This single image shot was taken looking down Dunrossil Drive which leads to Government House in Yarralumla, Canberra. I am eagerly awaiting the leaves to do their thing and change colour but it looks like I may have to wait a bit longer. It will be interesting to see whether this image has more impact with the leaves having turned yellow, I guess I will find out in the coming weeks.

I am looking forward to the long weekend as I have been very busy of late. Hopefully I will get a bit of time to get out and visit some of the locations I have been scoping out over the past couple of weeks. I will also be joining my local camera club to shoot the Anzac Day ceremony here in Canberra on Saturday so will be able to get a bit of practice in on taking some location portraits, should be good experience.

Enjoy the weekend!

~ by michaelolive on April 23, 2009.

6 Responses to “Thought it was time”

  1. love it!!
    just a beautiful shot, and well composed.
    i reckon this would make an awesome series!
    get the autumn leaves, as well as the winter shot when there’s no leaves.

  2. Thanks Stephen, The lighting helped with this shot. I plan on re-shooting again against the autumn leaves and I like your idea of creating a series and shooting again over winter when the leaves are gone. Thanks for the suggestion.
    Cheers

  3. I agree with Stephen, it would make a great series.

    I would think about cloning out the street signs as they are a little distracting in this otherwise peaceful scene.

  4. Thanks Beau, take your point with the street signs. I will do a bit of cloning and get rid of them. Cheers!

  5. Mike

    Love this shot, very classical.

  6. Thanks for the comment Michael, Cheer.

Leave a Reply

 
