Penguin Encounter

jemisons-beach-potato-point1

Another shot from the weekend just past, this one was taken on Jemison’s beach about 15 minutes after sunrise. I used an ND Grad 0.9 to hold back the sky and allow a slow enough shutter speed to add some blur to the incoming water. The clouds were quite prominent in the sky so I thought that it would fill the image nicely.

It was an interesting morning as I got to the location whilst it was still very dark and walking down the beach toward the point I came across a penguin of all things languishing on the edge of the water. It was too dark to get a photo so I just let him be, but it was definitely not something you see everyday. I later discovered after talking to a fisherman that they come from a nearby island and are quite commonly found on this beach. Will have to keep an eye out next time I’m there.

~ by michaelolive on February 26, 2009.

2 Responses to “Penguin Encounter”

  1. Amazing shot. You know, I bought an ND grad filter years ago but never got around to using it.

    Chris

  2. Hey Chris, thanks for the comment. I am like you mate I bought ND Grads a while back with the best intentions but after a while got lazy and stopped using them preferring to use photoshop. Lately I made a conscious decision to slow my photography down and get everything right in camera and I think my photos are benefiting from it.

    Cheers Mike.

Leave a Reply

 
