Week’s end

Afternoon light

Afternoon light

Still not much happening in Canberra in terms of lighting conditions. As important as lighting is to photography I think in a way it is more so in a place like Canberra. Don’t get me wrong it is a great place to live and there are some world class attractions however it lacks the coast line, city skyline and sheer magnitude of opportunities of its bigger brothers like Sydney, Melbourne, Perth and Brisbane.

So what does one do when the light is poor? I have been trying to scope out locations to shoot so that when the light finally is right I’ll know exactly where to go and how I want to shoot it. I have also been looking at trips to the south coast as it has been about 3 months since I went down there, way to long.

I love the way that the morning and afternoon glow lights up the world. It has the ability to make even the simplest subject come alive with colour, shape and perspective. No harsh shadows, no direct sunlight just a golden hue and those far reaching shadows filling out the landscape.

I took the above image yesterday afternoon at about 6pm near Tharwa just south of Canberra. The light was just getting that soft golden tone about it and I liked the way it transformed the colour of the leaves.

Nikon D90, Nikon 50mm @ f8, 1/320 sec.

~ by michaelolive on January 18, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
